Nexas Quartet "Five Chapters" with Willoughby Symphony

The Concourse, 409 Victoria Ave, Chatswood

Dr Nicholas Milton AM conductor

Nexas Saxophone Quartet saxophone

Willoughby Symphony Orchestra

Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain

Kats-Chernin Five Chapters [Australian Premiere]

Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5 in E minor, Op.64

Spend a terrifying Night on Bald Mountain with Dr Nicholas Milton AM and the Willoughby Symphony Orchestra this September as they conjure the dark spirits in Modest Mussorgsky’s demonic tone poem. Then join Sydney’s very own Nexas Saxophone Quartet with the Willoughby Symphony Orchestra for the Australian premiere of beloved Australian composer (and former Willoughby composer-in-residence) Elena Kats-Chernin’s Five Chapters, originally written for the world famous Raschèr Saxophone Quartet. Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony opens with a haunting clarinet melody, the ‘Fate’ theme that binds the whole symphony together. Fresh from recent successes, including the 1812 Overture, his Violin Concerto and the stunning opera Eugene Onegin, Tchaikovsky was anxious to prove that he was not played out, and the result was

one of music’s most personal and profound symphonies. “It has turned out well,” Tchaikovsky said. Don’t miss what promises to be a powerful performance.